Top Menu


Author Archive | awajda

Lehigh Carbon Community College

Lehigh Carbon Community College is one of 67 colleges and universities
nationwide chosen to participate in a pilot program that will offer Pell
Grants to incarcerated students. The program, called Second Chance Pell,
will enroll 12,000 prisoners at more than 100 correctional institutions
across the country. LCCC is one of four colleges or universities in
Pennsylvania who will participate in the pilot program. Read more >

ACAD members are current and former deans, provosts, academic vice presidents, associate and assistant deans, and other academic leaders from over 500 two- and four-year colleges and universities across the country.

ACAD provides academic leaders who share a commitment to student learning and to the ideals of liberal education with networking and professional development opportunities to support them in their work as educational leaders.

2020 Annual Meeting

The American Conference of Academic Deans (ACAD) is excited for our 76th Annual Meeting Leadership in Turbulent Times. Our meeting is being held in conjunction with the AAC&U Annual Meeting scheduled for January 22-25, 2020 in Washington, DC.

Registration for the meeting is run through AAC&U and one registration fee covers all sessions regardless if they are ACAD or AAC&U sponsored.  There are additional fees for meal ticketed events such as the ACAD members breakfast and for sessions outside of the general sessions such as the Deans’ Institute and pre-conference workshops.

Award Recipient Announced

The ACAD Board of Directors is proud to announce Dr. Kristine Bartanen, Provost, University of Puget Sound as the recipient of the 2018 Award for Excellence in Academic Leadership.  The award was established by ACAD to recognize individuals who exemplify excellence in academic leadership through shaping and supporting positive change on their campuses and in their communities.  Read full press release.

Patricia Sendall

Congratulations to Patricia Sendall who was recently appointed the inaugural Dean of Experiential Education at Merrimack College in Massachusetts. Previously she had served in various leadership roles at Merrimack from Chair of the Department of Management to Vice-Provost for Academic Affairs, and most recently as Special Assistant to the President. Read more >

Jonathan Green

Congratulations to former ACAD Board member Jonathan Green. Beginning July 2017 Jonathan will be the next President at Susquehanna University in Pennsylvania. Read more >

Pareena Lawrence

Congratulations to former ACAD Board member Pareena Lawrence. Pareena was named the next President at Hollins University. Read more >

Frank Boyd

Congratulations to ACAD Board member Frank Boyd. Frank was named the next Vice President for Academic Affairs and Academic Dean at Guilford College. Read more >

Indiana University-South Bend

We had a very good year in the sciences at IU South Bend—the sort that makes a dean of the liberal arts proud. Biology Professor Peter G. Bushnell was part of a team studying Greenland sharks. Their article in Science, revealing a key finding that Greenland sharks live hundreds of years garnered worldwide attention including NPR nationally and on many local stations, the Weather Channel, The NY Times, The Guardian, The Hindu, many TV affiliates, ScienceNordic, Global News Canada, Huffington Post and hundreds of other news outlets.

In Physics, Professor Ilan Levine was a recipient, as part of the Sudbury Neutrino Observatory (SNO) team, of the 2016 Breakthrough Prize in Fundamental Physics. The SNO experiment, which discovered neutrino oscillations and thereby solved the “solar neutrino problem,” is the same work for which Arthur McDonald, the SNO project leader, shared the 2015 Nobel Prize in Physics.

  |  1818 R Street, NW, Washington, DC 20009  |  202-884-7419

Back to top