Top Menu


Annual Award

About the ACAD Award for Excellence in Academic Leadership

From June through August of each year, members of the American Conference of Academic Deans (ACAD) are invited to nominate academic leaders from the associate dean level through the chief academic officer for the ACAD Award for Excellence in Academic Leadership.

Awarded at the annual meeting in January of each academic year during the ACAD Keynote Luncheon, the recipient will receive an award recognizing their achievement, a $500 travel stipend to attend the AACU/ACAD Annual Meeting conference, a complimentary conference registration, and two tickets to attend the Keynote luncheon.


Nominations for the 2018 year are being accepted until August 24, 2018. Please use your ACAD member login to access the nomination form.


  • Current ACAD Board of Directors members are ineligible to receive the award.
  • It is also possible for a nomination to be made for an entity (i.e., a group, association, society, or organization) that epitomizes the spirit of the award

2017 Recipient

The ACAD Board of Directors is proud to announce Dr. Linda Cabe Halpern, Vice Provost, James Madison University as the first recipient of the Award for Excellence in Academic Leadership.  The award was established by ACAD to recognize individuals who exemplify excellence in academic leadership through shaping and supporting positive change on their campuses and in their communities. Read the full press release.


  |  1818 R Street, NW, Washington, DC 20009  |  202-884-7419

Back to top